Cream of Chicken and Vegetable Soup

Winter gets pretty darn cold in Saskatchewan. I’d say from about early-mid November until the end of February, our “average” temperature is about -15 degrees Celsius (that’s just a rough guess based on the 20+ years I’ve lived here… not a fact). But at the height of winter, the temperate can dip as far as 30-35 degrees below zero. Not. Too. Fricken. Warm.

So, how do I keep warm? A lot of layers and a lot of soup! Soups and stews are one of my favorite things to eat AND make. Soup is nice because it’s soooo easy. It really doesn’t require a recipe at all. It’s so easy to just throw in a little bit of this, and a little bit of that!

This is something I whipped up a couple weeks ago.

1-2 tbs EVOO
3 boneless skinless chicken thighs, in bite size pieces
3/4-1 small white onion, finely chopped
5-6 white mushrooms, sliced

2 ribs celery
1/2 cup frozen green beans (chopped)
1/2 cup frozen corn
1/2 cup fresh or frozen carrots (match sticks)

1L low sodium chicken broth
1-2 cans evaporated milk

Fresh dill
Salt
Pepper

Heat oil in a skillet over medium-high. Toss in chicken, onion and mushrooms. Meanwhile, bring chicken broth to a boil. Once boiling, add celery, beans, corn and carrots. Simmer for 10 minutes. Add chicken mixture. And dill, salt and pepper to taste. Simmer for another 10-15 minutes.
Slowly add evaporated milk until desired level of deliciousness (aka creaminess!)


And voila… 3-4 servings of SOUPer goodness!

Yes, this is a little simple. I know my directions are brief. And forgive me… because my photo also sucks. But I’m at work, and quite honestly, am just trying to add a little content. So, had to work with what was in my head/on my phone! 😀

Later Gators.

Pamela

Leave a Reply

